School Council

All school councils in Victoria operate under the Education and Training Reform Act 2006. Each school council is established by an Order of the Minister for Education, which specifies the council’s membership, size and configuration, its objectives, powers, functions and accountabilities and the role of its executive officer who is the principal. The school council has particular functions in setting and monitoring the school’s direction.

School councils have three main responsibilities:

  • Finance – overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.

  • Strategic Planning – participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.

  • Policy Development and Review – developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

Other key functions of school councils include:

  • raising funds for school-related purposes

  • maintaining school grounds and facilities

  • entering into contracts

  • reporting annually to the school community and the Department

  • representing and taking the views of the community into account

  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds

  • operating a children’s service at the school.

School councils comprise parents, the principal, staff and often community members. School council elections are held in February or March each year. All parents or guardians of students enrolled at the school are eligible to vote for parent members, and staff vote for staff members. Community members are coopted by the school council.

Kensington Primary School Council (2021) consists of the following members:

Jonathan Orr – President

Thai Ngan – Vice President

Celine Becker – Treasurer

Annie Suratt – (Parent)

Suzanna Owens – (Parent)

Amran Gulied – (Parent)

Rob Mueller – (Parent)

Jessica Hambridge – (Parent)

Bridget McLaughlin – (DET)

Julie Stephens – (DET)

Rachel Gurr – (DET)

Jessica Filippis – (DET)

Madeleine Griffin – (DET)

Finance Sub-Committee

This committee assists the School Council by:

  • Managing the school's global budget.  This includes ensuring all incoming money is properly accounted for and expended and that an annual budget of income and expenditure is prepared and audited.

Facilities Sub-Committee

This committee assists the School Council by:

  • Ensuring all facilities are safe, adequately maintained and developed.

  • Considering long term and short term planning is considered including master planning and maintenance - with a focus on environmental responsibility.

Policy Sub-Committee

This committee assists the School Council by:

  • Ensuring all school policy supports effective student learning, safety and the smooth running of the school.

  • Ensuring the interests of all children are taken into account.  This includes providing a forum for parents, teachers and the wider community to participate in decision making.

  • The committee also provides information about current educational developments and actively encourages parent participation through the organization of information sessions.

Fundraising Sub-Committee

This committee assists the School Council by:

  • Raising funds and fun through the development and implementation of an annual fundraising plan.

In addition to the School Council Sub-Committees above, we also have a number of Working Parties.  Working Parties are formed as needed to work on particular projects.  We currently have a Welcome & Transitions working party that focus on ensuring smooth transitions into our school and between year levels.  We also have a Grubbies working party that works on environmental sustainability and the development of our school kitchen garden program.